Epsilon Xi Omega Legacy

EXO Deb Ball (1).jpg

LAying the foundation of sisterhood in san diego

In 1937, a small, but powerful group of women came together with the purpose of bringing Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, to San Diego, California. This determination led to the formation of the Beta Kappa chapter, which was a mixed chapter of both graduate and undergraduate members.  Those five extraordinary charter members of the Beta Kappa chapter were: Gladys Gier, Evada Long, Octavia Coleman, Elizabeth McGee, and Exie Hampton. Exie Hampton served as the first president of Beta Kappa, San Diego chapter upon its formation.



Eleven years later, in 1948, mixed-chapters were eliminated and undergraduate and graduate chapters become independent.  With this change, on October 29, 1949, the Epsilon Xi Omega (EXO) graduate chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha was charter

In an inspirational ceremony, then Regional Director of the Far Western region of AKA, Laura Audrey Jones, presented the official charter to Itaska Lewis, the first president of EXO. Those present during that memorable day included: Octavia Coleman, Ruby Hubert, Elizabeth McGee, Helen Nelson, Mercedes Ritchey, Ira McAllister, Bernice Small, Verna King, Gladys Ross, Eunice Simmons, Alice Whaley, and Aletha Williams. These woman continued their loyal and faithful service throughout the years to fulfill the vision of the national founders of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated.

More than 60 years later, Epsilon Xi Omega continues to serve the community of San Diego and beyond.